New Zealand is divided into 4 different disease control area types. Each area has different TB testing frequencies and movement control measures, depending on the risk of TB being transferred from infected wildlife — mainly possums — to cattle and deer.

Types of disease control areas

Movement Control Area (MCA)

In MCAs, all cattle or deer on a farm are tested annually. Your cattle or deer over 3 months old must have a TB test before they move within an MCA. You must complete the movement within 60 days of the pre-movement test. Stock going direct to slaughter don't require a pre-movement test.

Moving animals from a Movement Control Area (MCA)

Special Testing Area — Annual

In these areas, cattle over 12 months and deer over 15 months of age are tested annually.

Special Testing Area — Biennial  

In these areas, cattle and deer over 24 months of age are tested every 2 years.

Surveillance Area

In surveillance areas, cattle and deer over 24 months of age are tested every 5 years.

The current disease control areas are valid from 1 March 2023 to 29 February 2024.

DCA map

Enter your address in the search field to see what disease control area you're in. You can click on the top left corner of the map for an explanation of what the colours mean.