Animals you must declare in NAIT

Containing outbreaks of diseases that cross between species, such as FMD, is quicker and more effective if we know where animals of different species are being farmed together.

You need to record all cloven-hoofed animals, including:

  • sheep
  • pigs
  • goats
  • alpacas and llamas
  • emus and ostriches.

Sometimes we refer to these as non-NAIT animals.

You only need to declare non-NAIT animals if you also farm cattle or deer, or have cattle or deer on your property — for example, if you have a lifestyle block.

What you need to declare

Once a year by 31 July, you need to record how many of each non-NAIT animal you had on your property at 30 June.

If you're the Person in Charge of Animals (PICA) for your property, you risk getting an infringement notice and a $400 fine if you don’t declare this.